## WEST BENGAL STATE ELECTION COMMISSION

18, Sarojini Naidu Sarani (Rawdon Street) Kolkata – 700 017 Ph No. 2280-5277; FAX: 2280-7373

#### PRESS NOTE

#### Date- 31.03.2018

#### Sub: Panchayat General Election 2018

# 1. Panchayat General Election will be held for 20 Districts

Name of the District	Total No. of G.P. Seats	Total No. of P.S. seats	Total No. of ZP Seat	Total No. of Polling Premises	Total No. of Polling Stations	Total No. of electors as on 10.01.18
Cooch Behar	1966	366	33	1770	2302	2057786
Alipurduar	999	188	18	1004	1196	1052680
Jalpaiguri	1347	234	19	1254	1594	1456650
U. Dinajpur	1649	287	26	1494	1828	1884730
D. Dinajpur	975	187	18	1027	1147	1055411
Malda	2281	423	38	1910	2697	2549342
Murshidabad	4171	736	70	3493	5107	4483286
Nadia	3209	541	47	2405	3734	3329826
North 24-Pgs	3560	589	57	2843	4246	3824890
South 24-Pgs	4883	913	81	3925	6293	5109021
Hooghly	3192	607	50	2487	3771	3193138
Howrah	2431	462	40	1830	2881	2501588
Pr. Medinipur	3378	661	60	3399	3981	3478239
Ps. Medinipur	3040	611	51	3259	3730	3146453
Jhargram	806	187	16	987	1026	813155
Purulia	1944	<sup>'</sup> 446	38	1954	2324	1969651
Bankura	2505	535	46	2584	3014	2534163
Pr. Bardhaman	3234	618	58	2659	3830	3180761
Ps. Bardhaman	833	161	17	689	968	829477
Birbhum	2247	465	42	2094	2798	2384755
Total	48650	9217	825	43067	58467	50835002

# 2. Tentative Schedule of Poll (Subject to notification)

# <u>A.</u>

SI. No.	Description of Schedule	Date
1.	Notification of election by the State Government U/S 42 of the West Bengal Panchayat Elections Act, 2003.	31.03.2018
2.	Appointment of dates for nomination by the West Bengal State Election Commission U/S 43 of the West Bengal Panchayat Elections Act, 2003.	02.04.2018
3.	Public Notice inviting nominations for election by DM & DPEO U/S 44 of West Bengal Panchayat Election Act, 2003.	02.04.2018
4.	The last date for making nominations.	09.04.2018
5.	The date for the scrutiny of nominations.	11.04.2018
6.	The last date for the withdrawal of candidatures.	16.04.2018

# <u>B.</u>

DATE OF POLL	PHASE	DISTRICTS Nadia, North 24-Parganas, South 24-Parganas, Howrah, Hooghly, Purba Bardhaman, Paschim Bardhaman, Purulia, Bankura, Jhargram, Paschim Medinipore, Purba Medinipore		
01.05.2018	Poll 1 <sup>st</sup> Phase			
03.05.2018	8 Poll 2 <sup>nd</sup> Phase Murshidabad, Birbhum			
05.05.2018	Poll 3 <sup>rd</sup> Phase	Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri, Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur, Malda		
03.05.2018	Repoll if any of 1 <sup>st</sup> Phase			
05.05.2018	Repoll if any of 2 <sup>nd</sup> Phase			
07.05.2018	Repoll if any of 3 <sup>rd</sup> Phase			
	HOURS OF PO	DLL – 07.00 AM TO 05.00 PM		

# <u>C.</u>

SI No.	Description of Schedule	Date
1	Date of Counting	08.05.2018
2.	The date before which the election process shall	15.05.2018
	be completed	

### **3. Electoral Roll**

Adopted the Electoral Roll of ECI as published on 10.01.2018

#### 4. Identification of Voters

Electoral Photo Identity Card (EPIC) issued by the Election Commission of India shall be the main document for identification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that voter not deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the electoral roll, the Commission allows following alternative documents for use at the time of Poll.

SI. No.	Other Documents
1.	Passport
2.	Driving License
3.	Service Identity Card with Photograph of employees (Central / State / Undertaking)
4.	Passbook (Bank / Post Office)
5.	PAN Card
6.	MNREGA Job Card
7.	Health Insurance Smart Card
8.	Pension Document with Photograph
9.	SC/ST/OBC Certificate issued by Competent Authority
10.	Freedom fighter Identity Card
11.	Arms License with Photograph
12.	Physically Disability Certificate
13.	Bidi Worker Identity Card
14.	Aadhar Card

#### 5. Model Code of Conduct

Model Code of Conduct will come into force with immediate effect after this announcement.

- O No new schemes in Panchayat areas.
- O Ongoing schemes to continue.
- O In case of natural disaster permission for starting new work/distribution will be taken up by District authorities or from Commission.
- O No Minister or Minister rank official can summon any election related official in entire West Bengal.

O No Minister or Minister rank official can use Pilot Car, with or without beacon light unless there is security threats assessed by appropriate police officers.

1

O Inauguration and laying of foundation stone is stopped in Panchayat areas.