WEST BENGAL STATE ELECTION COMMISSION 18, SAROJINI NAIDU SARANI (Rawdon Street), KOLKATA-700 017

No.1848-SEC/5C-9/2013

Date : 08.07.2013

In pursuance of the order of the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India passed on 28th June, 2013 in the matter of West Bengal State Election Commission (Petitioner) –vs- The State of West Bengal & Others (Respondents) vide SLP (C1) No(s).19928-19931 of 2013 and the order passed by the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India on 2nd July, 2013 in the matter of IA Nos.7-26 and RP(C) Nos.1480-1483 of 2013 the dates of poll of the ensuing Panchayat General Elections, 2013 have been re-scheduled vide this Commission's Notification No.1758-SEC/1E-70/2012(Pt-II) dated 3rd July, 2013.

In consequence of the re-scheduled dates of poll, the date of Counting of Votes is also required to be changed.

Therefore, in partial modification of para 4(II) of this Commission's Order No.1601(17)-SEC/5C-9/2012 dated 17.06.2013 and in cancellation of the Commission's No.1642(17)-SEC/5C-9/2013 dated 20.06.2013, it has been decided by the Commission that the counting of votes shall begin on **29th July, 2013 at 8.00 A.M.** in place of "13th July, 2013" and the sequence of counting shall be in the order as shown below:

- i) Gram Panchayat.
- ii) Panchayat Samiti.
- iii) Zilla Parishad.

Following the aforesaid sequence, a particular counting table shall receive polled box of a prefixed polling station for Gram Panchayat first, for Panchayat Samiti second and for Zilla Parishad next. The order in which the polled boxes (of the polling stations) shall be sent to a particular counting table, shall be worked out carefully earlier and shall be declared in the hall.

> By order of State Election Commissioner West Bengal State Election Commission

> Secretary, West Bengal State Election Commission

No.1848/1(17)-SEC/5C-9/2013

Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to the District Panchayat Election Officer & District Magistrate, Cooch Behar / Jalpaiguri / Uttar Dinajpur / Dakshin Dinajpur / Malda / Murshidabad / Nadia / North 24-Parganas / South 24-Parganas / Howrah / Hooghly / Purba Medinipur / Paschim Medinipur/ Bankura / Burdwan / Purulia / Birbhum.

Panchayat Returning Officers may be advised accordingly.

Date : 08.07.2013